Kuleba Called On EU and G7 Countries to Stop Issuing Visas to Russians

Wednesday, 10 August 2022

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, Dmytro Kuleba, called on all countries of the European Union and the G7 to stop issuing visas to citizens of the Russian Federation.

Prime Minister of Estonia Kaja Kallas urged the EU to stop issuing tourist visas to Russians. She emphasized that visiting Europe is a privilege, not a human right.

Prime Minister of Finland, Sanna Marin, supported the idea to stop issuing tourist visas to Russians at the European level.

The European Commission stated that they were ready to impose new sanctions on Russia, but this is the competence of the member states.

During his visit to Kyiv on August 3, Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu announced that Estonia would submit a proposal to the EU to ban tourist visas to Russians within the next week.

Estonia has not issued tourist visas to Russians since spring. In late July, the Estonian government approved a ban on granting temporary residence permits or study visas to Russian citizens.

If you notice an error, select the required text and press Ctrl + Enter to report it to the editors.